If you press the lock button 10 seconds into a file, the locked file contains the 10 seconds before your press and the remaining 1 minute 50 seconds after it — the full 2-minute segment.
If you press the lock button near the end of a file, the locked file contains everything from the start of that segment up to that point, but only the few remaining seconds after your press, because the segment is about to end.